Knowledgebase: Product > memoQ
Dealing with duplicates in a TM
Posted by P├ęter Botta on 10 January 2014 12:17 AM

Title: Dealing with duplicates in TMs

Description:  

With memoQ 2013 R2, the storage of TM roles together with a TM entry was introduced. The role value behaves similar to context. Assuming you have the default settings for the TM (store context and multiple translations are not allowed) then one TM entry is stored per context AND role. In other words, if storing roles is enabled, and a translator confirms a segment, and then a reviewer 2 confirms the same segment in the same context, then a new entry is created instead of overwriting the existing entry.

On the other hand, if you confirm the same segment in the same context with the same role, you overwrite the exsting entry in the TM. This can lead to undesired duplicates in the TM. When you turn the storage of roles off in the TM settings, you are not getting rid of duplicates for existing entries that are already in the TM. In fact, if you already have the same entry in the TM with three different roles for example (T, R1, and R2), and turn the storage of roles off, and confirm the same segment again in the same context, you create a fourth TM entry because now the role to store is different again (role=None).

If the storage of roles is turned off, you are not creating "new" duplicates for segments that are not in the TM yet.
If you want to completely prevent having different versions of the same TM entry per role, you need to turn the storage of roles off before entering any translations into your TM. Since memoQ 2013 R2 ( build 6.8.53 and higher), the default TM settings do not store the role by default.
(1 vote(s))
This article was helpful
This article was not helpful

Comments (0)
Help Desk Software by Kayako support.memoq.com/index.php?